Loading...

Premium DVR tiers of service

If you need more storage, you can purchase 150 additional Cloud DVR storage hours through Premium DVR service through the Xfinity X1 (X1) DVR TV Box, online at xfinity.com, or by contacting us.

Upgrade through an X1 TV Box

You can purchase additional Cloud DVR storage hours by pressing the Record button on the Xfinity Voice Remote. A DVR Upgrade option will display.

Screenshot showing DVR upgrade option with upgrade button on left.

If you already have DVR service, you can purchase additional Cloud DVR storage hours through the X1 TV Box by going to Main Menu > Saved > Recordings > Upgrade DVR Plan (located below the list of recorded programs).

Screenshot with upgrade option at the bottom

The Upgrade option also appears on screen in the following situations.

DVR Storage is Full

This message appears each time the conflict occurs when recordings are set to save for one year.

Screenshot showing DVD storage is full with options to delete, upgrade, or cancel at the bottom

Potential Conflict

Screenshot of potential conflict warning with override, cancel, or upgrade DVR options at the bottom

After choosing to upgrade in any of the above scenarios, select Get Started to review recording options.

Review your recording options with get started button in lower-left corner

The new monthly pricing appears, along with the Terms and Conditions. To complete the purchase, select Submit Order.

Premium DVR service

A confirmation Thank You! page appears. The new DVR storage should be available immediately once the upgrade completes on-screen. Menu screens, like current storage percentage (Guide > Saved > Recordings) will be available shortly after the upgrade.

Cloud recordings will initially differ from what’s on the local hard drive. Any new recordings will be reflected similarly on both the cloud and TV Box.

Removing Premium DVR service

If you remove the Premium DVR service, your stored recordings may be impacted if your total number of recorded hours is more than what’s included in your subscription. For example, if you switch from 300 hours to 150 hours, you keep 150 hours of your most recent recordings and recordings set with the "For 1 Year" setting.

If you remove Xfinity TV service completely, you’ll no longer have access to any of your DVR recordings and will be unable to access them on the Xfinity Stream app or portal.

Was this page helpful?

Didn’t find what you’re looking for?

Ask Xfinity Assistant
Visit Our Help Communities
Messenger

Messenger

Connect with us
Xfinity Support Forums

Xfinity Support Forums

Visit Forums
X

X

Send a message
Reddit

Reddit

Browse Reddit